Easter cake with coffee buttercream frosting

1Ok well I set out to make an Easter themed, pink and green checkerboard cake, with vanilla buttercream frosting. Lets ignore the fact that this cake is neither:

  • Checkerboard
  • Pink and green
  • Coated in vanilla buttercream icing

3

And lets pretend that this was what I intended on making from the start. Once those factors are in place, this cake isn’t so bad after all!

I don’t usually like anything coffee flavoured, but I’ve had a checkerboard cake in the past which had a really thin coating of coffee buttercream frosting in between each layer, so thats what I was going to do. To make sure the coffee flavour wasn’t too overpowering I planned to cover the entire cake in vanilla buttercream frosting. For some reason the cake became really crumbly when I removed it from the tin, meaning it wasnt stable enough for me to cut circles into it in order to make the checkerboard cake. Which meant I had a bowl of coffee frosting which had no use. Rather than put it to waste, I decided to just use it on the cake, which meant the result was slightly too coffee flavoured for me, but next time I’ll try a checkerboard cake again and get it right.

I used a white cake mix recipe, in order to color the sponge orange and green. I think this is part of the reason it didn’t work out well enough to cut into a checkerboard, so next time I’ll stick to regular chocolate and vanilla.

I go away on holiday for 2 weeks on saturday so probably wont be doing any baking out there! Might update with some photos of the cakes and desserts I come across though! Anyway hope you all have a good Easter!2

Jess x

Recipe:

Cake:

  • 350g butter, room temperature
  • 350g caster sugar
  • 6 large egg whites
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 350g self raising flour
  • Food colouring (2 colours)

Frosting:

  • 250g icing sugar
  • 125g butter (room temp)
  • 2tbs cold coffee
    1. Preheat the oven to 180C and grease two 8″ cake tins
    2. Cream the butter and sugar until fluffy.
    3. Beat in the egg whites, and slowly add the flour, followed by the vanilla extract.
    4. Divide the mixture in half, and add food colouring to each one, and mix until even.4
    5. Spoon the mixture in the cake tins and cook for 25 minutes, or until skewer comes out clean.
    6. Let to cool completely whilst making the frosting.
    7. Mix the butter and icing sugar until combined in a crumb like texture.
    8. Add the coffee and beat on medium speed for 5 minutes.
    9. Frost the cake and decorate as you please
3 thoughts on “Easter cake with coffee buttercream frosting

Leave a Reply

