Easiest Banoffee Pie EVER

196469_104080589676482_227654_n_Fotor

Seeing as I didn’t get time to bake anything today I thought I’d share an old recipe I’ve made probably far too many times in the past. It literally takes less than twenty minutes to make, doesn’t require cooking, and can be eaten the second it’s complete (or earlier even!)

Like with the base of my cheesecake, I like to experiment with the base of this pie, using different biscuits to give a subtle change in taste.

For this one, I used chocolate digestive biscuits, and crushed them until they were fine crumbs

For this one, I used chocolate digestive biscuits, and crushed them until they were fine crumbs

As with a cheesecake base, the crumbs are mixed with butter and pressed into the base

As with a cheesecake base, the crumbs are mixed with butter and pressed into the base

Spread the dulce de leche across the base

Spread the dulce de leche across the base

I didn’t get a photo of the next stage (didn’t think I’d ever be using them!) but next arrange the sliced bananas across the entire base, and top off with the whipped cream.

Didn't even get a photo of the finished piece before my friends got to it!

Didn’t even get a photo of the finished piece before my friends got to it!

The pie can be decorated in many ways, with sprinkles to give a fun colorful edge, just a few bananas or a sprinkle of chocolate shavings to give a slightly more sophisticated look. Prepare not too long before serving or else the bananas will start to turn brown 😦

And thats all there is to it! Let me know how your one goes! 🙂

Jess x

Recipe:

  • 240g crushed biscuits of your choice
  • 100g butter (melted)
  • Dulce de leche (I used Carnation’s Caramel)
  • 3-4 sliced bananas
  • 300ml whipping (double) cream
  1. Crush the biscuits until they are fine crumbs.
  2. Add crumbs to the melted butter, and stir until they are evenly covered.
  3. Press the mixture into the bottom of the dish
  4. Spread the caramel across the base
  5. Arrange the bananas across the caramel
  6. Whip the cream until soft peaks form, and spread across the top, leaving a thin border around the edge to show the bananas
  7. Decorate as you wish
Leave a Reply

