My total failure of an Ice Cream Sandwich Cake

This was such a failure, I didn’t plan on posting about it. But then I thought, this is a blog of my baking adventures, not every attempt is going to be a success. This was one of those times.

I came across this gif while browsing 9Gag, and watched it in awe about 10 times straight. Could anything be more simple, yet effective, than a bunch of sandwich ice cream bars stacked on top of each other? My brothers love those ice cream bars so I thought this would be a really simple, quick, 10 minute job to make a pretty cool cake they would like. So where did I go wrong? Pretty much every step of the way!

Lets go through those steps.

Error 1: Ok well firstly, I get to the shops to buy the sandwiches, only to find they only had dairy free ones. I’m not sure if it was the missing dairy, or a faulty shop freezer, but the bars were soggy and falling apart before I even started.

Solution: Buy dairy bars and ensure they’re 100% frozen before starting!

See the melting ice cream centers? Not the best start

See the melting ice cream centers? Not the best start

Error 2: Despite making this shop trip, it turned out I hadn’t bought enough bars! (My ones were half the size of the picture, and thus would have needed double the amount. A calculation I didn’t make). This meant I attempted to fill the gap with some ice cream we had in the freezer. It didn’t work.

Solution: Make sure you calculate how many you would need before going out!

Filling the gap with ice cream. Not one of my better ideas

Filling the gap with ice cream. Not one of my better ideas

Error 3: Well the topping is meant to be cool whip, something unfortunately the UK doesn’t sell. I’m not actually sure what cool whip is, but it looked a bit like whipped cream to me so I thought I’d just cover it in some whipped cream. Probably the worst move of all. The cream somehow looked like it was curdling. As I was attempting to spread it over the cake, it was mixing with the ice cream and becoming one big mess. I gave up half way through and admitted defeat.

I don’t even have a solution for that part! Maybe fly to the US and buy some cool whip?!

Time to admit defeat

Time to admit defeat

Although the result looked like a monstrosity, my brothers happily ate it, and even complimented it. But then again it is a bunch of their favourite ice cream bars badly stacked on top of each other, so it’s not like I could have ruined the taste, as well as the appearance! (Although they did mention the whipped cream slightly ruined it. So really I could have saved myself the hassle and just handed them a new, unopened sandwich bar, and they would have been just as happy!)

Apparently it tasted better than it looks (which wouldnt be a struggle)

Apparently it tasted better than it looks (which wouldnt be a struggle)

So hopefully you learn from my mistakes and do better than me! Let me know if you try and if you succeed!

Jess x

Recipe:

  • Ice cream sandwich bars (as many as you need for your design)
  • Cool Whip
  • (If all is a success by this point, perhaps some chocolate sauce or sweets to decorate the top)

 

8 thoughts on “My total failure of an Ice Cream Sandwich Cake

Leave a Reply

