Paleo Shepherds Pie

d

Seeing as in two weeks I’ll be squeezing myself into a bikini and lounging on a beach, I thought I should have a break from the sugars and cakes, and attempt some healthier recipes.

I love Shepherd’s Pie but obviously its not the most diet friendly meal, so I made a paleo version, replacing the potato mash topping with cauliflower, and trust me it tastes just as good!

Earlier yesterday I happened to be passing a kitchen shop (forget shoes and bags – kitchen/baking and stationary shopping are my two greatest weaknesses, and very dangerous for my purse!) when I saw it had a 75% sale! So of course I went in to investigate further, and I found these sweet little casserole dishes from £65 down to £20 for the set. It was a sign that the Shepherds Pie was meant to be.

1

This recipe made two mini casserole dishes worth (one for lunch, one for dinner), but if you need to make more, just adjust the ingredients accordingly. Each portion is warm and filling, is low in carb and high in protein, yet has under 250 calories, making it a great and healthy meal.

IMG_0342_Fotor

Let me know if you try it and what you think! I’ll be resuming with the baking today, but will just have to have a lot more self control when it comes to sampling!

Jess x

Recipe:

  • 300g Cauliflower florets
  • 200g beef mince
  • 1 diced small onion
  • 1 garlic clove (crushed)
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • Coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp tomato puree
  • 2/3 cup beef stock
  • 1 extra light laughing cow cheese triangle (not strictly paleo so optional)
  1. Place the cauliflower in water and boil until soft.
  2. While waiting, sautee the onion and garlic in coconut oil
  3. Add the beef mince and keep stirring until browned
  4. Add the tomato paste, carrots, beef stock, and salt and pepper to taste, and bring to the boil while mixing.
  5. Turn down to a medium heat for 10 minutes.
  6. While waiting, drain the cauliflower, which should now be very soft, and mash it. I used my cake mixer to do this as it works well, but if you dont have this, a regular masher will be fine. Add in the cheese triangle and continue mashing / mixing.
  7. Place the mince in the bottom of your dish, and then the cauliflower mash on top (I didnt, but if you like you can add a sprinkle of parmesan cheese on top)
  8. These can be prepared in advance and stored in the fridge until ready to eat.
  9. When ready, preheat the oven to 180C and cook for 20 minutes.

 

2 thoughts on “Paleo Shepherds Pie

Leave a Reply

