Red Velvet Cheesecake!

IMG_0094_Fotor

I can’t believe its already Friday! Where has this week gone?! I’m in the middle of moving jobs, so using the time out as an opportunity to ‘improve’ myself with new skills and hobbies. So this week I’ve been constantly busy, trying to teach myself coding (I’ve found this great site called Codecademy, check it out!), joining yoga and martial art classes, and of course baking. And in between all of that, I’m looking for a new job.  

Anyway back to baking! Anyone who’s been to The Cheesecake Factory and tried their Red Velvet Cheesecake will know its like eating a little (or big) slice of heaven. I have the problem when baking for my family, that my mum is prefers cheesecakes, whilst my brother is more of a fan of sponge cakes. So this cake was perfect in satisfying both of their fussy requirements.

It was actually quite a simple cake to make, just more time consuming than others. I made it over two days in order to allow the cheesecake to refridgerate over night. Although I did commit a massive baking sin with the red velvet cake, and used a ready made mixture (!) as I was short of time and needed it done by last night. But of course when you make it you can make it from scratch!

So I made the cheesecake the night before to allow it to refrigerate overnight before starting the red velvet the next morning. My mum prefers a cheesecake which is slightly softer, so my trick is to use half  ‘light’ cream cheese and half full-fat. The light cream cheese has a runnier consistency giving the cake that little soft touch.

IMG_0059_Fotor

The key to a softer cheesecake

IMG_0060

Blend the cream cheese and sugar until smooth, before adding the eggs

IMG_0057_Fotor

8″ tin. Make sure its well greased.

If you’re short of time like I was, Betty Crocker do a pretty good ready made cake mix! (I swear I wont tell 😉 )

IMG_0062_Fotor

No one will know!

IMG_0061_FotorApply a layer of icing to the bottom red velvet layer, and then stack the cheesecake on top of it. Use the same cake tin to bake all the cakes to ensure they’re all the same size.

IMG_0064_FotorThen apply a layer of icing over the cheesecake, and place the second red velvet cake on top of the cheesecake. I placed it face-side down to give a perfectly flat top.

IMG_0065_FotorOne mistake I made with the icing was using the low fat cream cheese rather than the full fat. It may be good for giving a softer cake, but the result here was just a runny icing – not great when trying to cover a cake. So make sure you use the full fat version.

IMG_0072_Fotor

IMG_0087_FotorThe result is a truly amazing tasting and impressive looking dessert. My friend who is probably my biggest critic described it as ‘It’s actually pretty good’ which is probably the best compliment he’s ever given my baking.

So give it a try and let me know how it goes!

Have a good weekend!

Jess x

Recipe:

Cheesecake:

  • 300g full-fat cream cheese
  • 300g low-fat cream cheese
  • 150g Caster Sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon plain flour
  • 1 tsp Vanilla essence
  • 200ml soured cream
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C
  2. Grease your 8″ cake tin and line with baking paper
  3. Mix the cream cheese until smooth, then gradually add the sugar. Continue mixing until smooth and creamy
  4. Add the vanilla essence, and a pinch of salt
  5. Add the eggs, one at a time, scraping the bowl to combine everything between each one.
  6. Add the soured cream and flour and stir gently until everything is combined.
  7. Pour into the cake tin
  8. Bake for 40-50 minutes or until the middle has almost set.
  9. Allow to cool before taking out and leaving to set overnight in the fridge.

 

Red Velvet:

I used a ready made mixture, but if you want to make one from scratch, this is a pretty good recipe.

Icing:

  • 125g full fat cream cheese at room temperature
  • 300g icing sugar
  • 50g butter
  1. Blend the butter and icing sugar until well mixed
  2. Add the cream cheese in one go
  3. Beat for 5 minutes until light and fluffy
2 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cheesecake!

  1. Pingback: Cheesecake brownie | Jessica's Cakes

Leave a Reply

