Pinata Cake!

IMG_9936

As promised here is the cake I made this morning! I saw a few examples of Pinata cakes floating around the internet, and I couldn’t get over how amazing they look!

You can pretty much use any dense cake (it needs to be able to support itself once its been hollowed out) and then fill it up with anything you want. I chose M&Ms and jelly tots as I wanted something extra colourful. 

I used a recipe for a standard pound cake, and baked it in a large bowl to give it a rounder look when hollowed out. I needed two cakes for the two layers, but only had one bowl so had repeat everything, so if you have two of the same size bowls it might be slightly easier.

IMG_9895

Mixing the butter and sugar

IMG_9896

Adding one egg at a time

So this is the bowl I used, not ideal I know, but I was short of options. Just make sure you really grease the bowl so the cake comes out easily.

IMG_9897

Once the cakes were cooked, I let them cool completely before doing anything else. As you know my patience for waiting for cakes to cool is almost non existant, so I decided to remove myself from my house and go get some chocolate fondue!

IMG_9903

Mmmmm

Once my sweet tooth was satisfied, I came back to finish off the cake. When hollowing out the cake just make sure not to go too deep and make a hole through the other side.

IMG_9905

Hollowing out the cake

IMG_9906

I wasn’t sure how much chocolate would be needed and ended up buying far too much. In the end I only needed around 2.5 bags of those M&Ms.

IMG_9907

Pipe a thick layer of icing around the edge and then place the top half on top. I didn’t like how this meant the hollowed out top half wasn’t overflowing with chocolate also, so I cut a tiny hole in the top of the cake and poured a few more M&Ms into it. I then used icing to glue the piece of cake back in.

M&M chute!

M&M chute!

Before decorating the cake, I covered the entire thing in a thin layer of regular buttercream icing to lock in the crumbs.

For the decoration just use your imagination! I wanted something extra bright and fun so I chose 4 colours of icing and blended them around the cake to give a whirling effect. I sort of experimented with an icing recipe as I wanted it thicker than usual, and wanted a hint of cream cheese in it, but you can use any icing you want.

IMG_9917And thats all there is to it – until you cut open the pinata and release all the treats!

IMG_9933

If you have more control than me and manage not to eat the hollowed out cake, you can use it to make cake pops.

Anyway that’s it, hope you like it! Let me know if you make your own and how it goes.

Jess x

Recipe:

Cake: (Per half. 2 required. If you have two of the same dishes, double this and split the mixture between the dishes. If not just repeat twice)

  • 225g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 225g Butter
  • 225g Caster Sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • Rind of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp Vanilla essence
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 170C
  2. Grease your dishes
  3. Cream the butter and sugar using an electric whisk until smooth. 
  4. Stir in the vanilla and lemon rind
  5. Add the eggs, one at a time along with 1 tablespoon of flour.
  6. Mix the baking powder and flour, and add to the mixture.
  7. Pour into the baking dish
  8. Bake for 50-60 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.
  9. Allow to cool in the dish before turning out on a wire rack to cool completely.

Icing:

  • 25g butter
  • 50g cream cheese
  • 300g icing sugar
  • Milk (as needed)
  1. Blend the butter and cream cheese until smooth
  2. Add the icing sugar slowly, adding milk if required
  3. Beat until light and fluffy
  4. Colour the icing with any food colouring you desire
8 thoughts on “Pinata Cake!

Leave a Reply

