Some old stuff

Before I start I just want to apologise for the poor quality of the photos coming! Last year I was living in university halls, which meant it was always easy to find a group of people to come eat my cakes, often before I had time to get a good photo of it! I never thought I’d be posting them on a blog so most the photos are quick snaps on my phone before I allowed my friends come and destroy the cakes, but in future I’ll take better pictures! Also when I bake next time I’ll try add photos of each step and of course post the recipe! But the pictures below are from months back so unfortunately I don’t remember them all. Anyway I hope to bake my first thing tomorrow morning so check back over the weekend for that!

IMG_4377The minute I saw a photo of these online I knew I had to bake them! They were pretty simple to do, I used a chocolate cupcake recipe, and piped blue icing onto each. To give the furry texture, I used coconut shavings with blue food colouring and sprinkled it on top. White Chocolate buttons and a cookie for the eyes and mouth, and there you have your cookie monster cupcake! To be honest I’m not a fan of coconut, but it works so well for the fur I had to use it!

208068_109013282516546_672567_n

These were regular vanilla sponge cupcakes with a marshmallow frosting (regular vanilla buttercream frosting mixed with marshmallows). I got the recipe from the Hummingbird Bakery recipe book for those of you who have it. The frosting on these was a bit too sweet, but if you have a serious sweet tooth like I do, then it’s nothing you won’t be able to handle!

249989_121224934628714_8031202_n

This was another cake that I loved as soon as I saw it! It’s such a fun and happy looking cake! I just baked a regular chocolate cake and then used frosting to hold the KitKats against the side. Then you fill the ‘pit’ with any sweet or chocolate that you like – I chose M&Ms and Smarties. I found the KitKats didn’t stick  well, so had to use a sweet lace to hold it up, but I still think it works!

UntitledThis was my first attempt at a giant cupcake cake, which obviously had to be red velvet flavour with cream cheese icing. If theres one thing I need to work on, it’s my patience (or lack of). So not wanting to wait for the cake to cool before adding the icing the result was a molten centre of cream cheese frosting. I actually think it made the cake even better, and everyone loved it! So of course I pretended that’s how I meant for it to be…

Untitled1This was my first attempt at a pavlova but I think it worked out pretty well. It’s hard to go wrong with a classic strawberry and cream dessert and everyone seemed to like it! I have a bunch more to show you but I don’t want to bore you too much with a massive post of my old pictures! So I’ll add more another time, and hopefully some new things this weekend!

(Also I’m having a nightmare trying to align the photos without them moving all over the place, so if you have any tips on that or how to add borders to the images please let me know!)

Have a fun and tasty weekend!

Jess x

Leave a Reply

